top of page

INTROSPECTION

21. Wholeness

As each day passes, I sense my presence in this physical world is becoming increasingly disconnected. It is a strange serene sensation. I am here, but I am not really. I wonder whether some part of me has already moved on.

Could it be that Motor Neurone Disease is the most awesome disease anyone can truly have, to help in one's preparedness in transitioning to the next afterlife? When every single aspect of your physicality is stripped away in totality, what do we have left? My answer will surprise some or even many ...sporadic Wholeness...

Wholeness in the sense of Yourself. You finally have no choice but to sit in silence with yourself, to finally find a way to come to terms with yourself, to accept yourself. When I trip into this space of wholeness, my world is more at peace, I am more at peace with myself.

The space between the noises of our life becomes greater, where finally the only noise of beauty is the silence. This is the place in which life breathes life. Is this what the next world looks like? Through MND, am I one of the privileged few to have a minute taste of our 'other' world, here on earth?

I find it amusing that my fellow MND compatriot Professor Stephen Hawking has spent his extraordinary working life trying to understand how our universe came into being by searching the stars. Rather than searching for an answer 'out there', on the outer perimeters of this universe, I tend to think moreso these days, that the answer is much closer to home. The answer is within us, it is us.

Everything which is the universe is us, and all that we are is the universe. By looking at ourselves, and within ourselves, we can discover what we have been seeking without, but never found.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page