top of page

INTROSPECTION

11. The Breath

It is only in the past several years that I have discovered the immense power and gift of the breath. I believe it is the universal language of life.

A better understanding, appreciation, and respect for the breath has enabled me to stay more centred, more at peace, and grounded in the midst of my physical disintegration. The breath is my drug of choice, returning me to thyself.

Today, I find nothing else more reinvigorating than sitting in silence in unison with my breath, awakening my door to inspiration, and allowing the source, the spirit of my 'God' to gently become one with me. The breath is my prayer, the gateway to gratitude, forgiveness, compassion, and of my surrender.

Breath is the 'spirit of life' in seamless motion, the messenger of our ancestors, and the matrix of divinity which connects and touches us with intimate serenity. Listen closely to its whispers, and it can unlock the truths of your soul.

Whatever we define our 'God' to be, we can return home to 'God' through the breath. Breath is where the foothold of miracles begin, where time and space is transcended, and healing proclaimed. Experience life in every moment by moving into, and becoming one with the breath. You will unlock and be transported into an uncharted world within a world, in which inner fulfilment is attained.

I endeavour to, before I arise in the morning, and before I lay my head for sleep in the evening, to meditate on the breath. It helps to prepare me for the day, to give thanks to the day to unfold, and be grateful for the day just passed.

I close my eyes, take a deep breath, hold my breath for a couple of seconds, then gently release my breath. I repeat this for several minutes in the morning and in the evening.

Through this simple practice, I have profoundly discovered,"When you own your breath, nobody can steal your peace."

(Dedicated to Newcastle's 'Master of the Breath' Justin Bergholcs, and Yoga teacher Lisa Pollard, who both enlightened me on the power and gift of the breath)


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page