top of page

INTROSPECTION

3. An Awakening

Humankind has been witness to the agricultural, industrial, sexual, and technological revolutions over the centuries. We are now in the midst of the most profound revolution - a spiritual one - and one in which everyone gets out alive!

When we reconnect with spirit, we become personally empowered to make choices from a place of strength and wisdom, instead of one from a place of hurt and reaction. I am not saying I am there yet, but I like to believe I am a little more closer.

In the midst of my physical disintegration, I have found a little more contentment, peace of mind, and a love for life and importantly of myself, something I never really understood or appreciated until recently.

I now see my diagnosed ALS as an Ascended Learner in Spirit. I have discovered the things that truly matter in life. Better late than never!

But this does not mean I don't get pissed off or am in tears on particular days. The thought of the likelihood of not walking Siena down the wedding aisle and being a grandfather does sadden me. And the thought of not being able to support Anna with her own cancer battle pains me deeply. Anna is truly an extraordinarily inspirational woman, and my living Saint.

Western culture sees sickness, illness, disease in a negative light. I now come to see it as a way for my body to tell me that I, in some way, have disconnected from spirit. Rather than fighting against the disease, I have, in time, accepted, embraced and thanked it for raising awareness of my essence, my surroundings, of life.

Disease has surprisingly become my teacher. Who would have thought!


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page