top of page

INTROSPECTION

14. To Give Of Myself

A few nights back, I was lying in bed watching the riveting ABC political thriller "The Killing Season", about the leadership dysfunctionalism of the Rudd-Gillard years. Inexplicably, an obscure thought popped into my head in regards to donating my body organs.

Up to that point, I have had a hesitancy in donating my body organs. The hesitancy was based on an illogical rational that if I was to give away my organs, then whenever I was to go after this life, I would be without those organs. The more I thought about it, the more absurd it sounded!

When I become fascinated with an issue, I tend to research it. I discovered the majority of religions actually support the notion of organ donation. That surprised me.

Buddhists place high value on acts of compassion, honouring those donating their bodies and organs to promoting medical science and to saving lives.

Catholics also view organ and tissue donation as an act of 'charity and love', something considered positive resulting from tragedy, and a way for families to find comfort by helping others, so long as it is ethically done.

And various schools of Islamic law also supports the idea of organ transplants in saving human lives, and a noble act.

Today, I have had a change of 'heart'! When the time comes, it will personally fulfilling knowing that I am potentially gifting a 'new' life by donating a part of me to someone in real need, and to hopefully help someone return to a normal existence.

To know that I will in some way physically 'live on' through someone else is strange and special at the same time. And to think one donator can save up to 8 lives.

To me, life is sacred and the greatest of blessings. To help extend, to sustain a life by donating my organs is one of greatest acts of love I believe I can give.


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page